Dennis Smith, Ph.D.
Professor Dennis W. Smith, received his B.S. (1988) from Missouri State
University and his Ph.D. (1992) from the University of Florida under the
guidance of Prof. Ken Wagener on the scope and mechanism of acyclic diene
metathesis (ADMET) polymerization. He was a Rhone Poulenc Graduate
Research Fellow in Lyon, France pursuing novel silicone elastomers, and a
Dow Chemical Postdoctoral Fellow (1993) with Dr. Raymond König in
Rheinmünster, Germany exploring fundamental aspects of epoxy networks.
Dr. Smith joined The Dow Chemical Company Central Research Laboratory
as Sr. Research Chemist (1993), and later was promoted to Project Leader
(1996) working primarily on the synthesis and characterization of high
performance thermosets for thin film microelectronics applications.

He served as National Chemistry Week (NCW) Coordinator (1996) and Chair
of the Brazosport Section of the American Chemical Society (1997). He was a
recipient of the 1997 Dow Chemical Central Research Inventor of the Year
Award before joining Clemson in 1998. He is a recipient of a National Science
Foundation Early Faculty CAREER Award, 3M Pre-Tenured Faculty Award,
Clemson University Award for Faculty Achievement in the Sciences, Cottrell
Scholar of Research Corporation, and he was named 2005 Outstanding
Faculty Member by the Graduate Student Association. Dr. Smith is a founding
member and Associate Director of Clemson’s Center for Optical Materials
Science & Engineering Technologies (COMSET). He has also served the
American Chemical Society Division of Polymer Chemistry as Councilor,
Founder and Organizer of the international conference, Fluoropolymer 2000,
2002, 2004, and 2006, and in 2006 he was elected Vice Chair of the Polymer
Division. He is the current American Editor of the journal, Polymer Bulletin,
and serves on the editorial board for High Performance Polymers, Polymers
for Advanced Technology.

Dr. Smith’s research interest includes synthesis, mechanism,
structure/property relationships, and applications of polymeric materials and
composites including (1) fluoropolymers from aromatic trifluorovinyl ethers, (2)
polyarylenes from bis-ortho-diynyl arenes, (3) renewable polymers based on
lactide and rubber recycling.
PFCB Polymer and Monomer

TetramerNDM  (Nanoparticle          
                            Dispersion Matrix)  
Proton Exchange Membranes
Gas Separation Membranes

Biorenewable Materials
Piezoelectric Polymers
Distributed by:
Oakwood Chemicals